What is Panna Cotta?
Panna cotta is Italian cooked cream. It is a classic custard-like Italian dessert with four main ingredients: heavy cream, vanilla, gelatin, and sugar. Other ingredients like rum, marsala, saffron, coffee, chocolate, cardamom, etc., are also added frequently as flavorings. And while the dish's exact origins are unclear, it likely originated in the Piedmont region of Northern Italy.
Is Panna Cotta Gluten-Free?
Yes, absolutely. Panna cotta is made with whipping cream, white sugar, vanilla bean, gelatin, lemon juice, and fresh raspberries. As these ingredients are naturally gluten-free, panna cotta is also a gluten-free dessert suitable for those with a gluten allergy or intolerance.
What to Serve with Panna Cotta?
Serve this best panna cotta recipe set in a glass or transferred to a plate. Top it with caramel sauce, dark chocolate ganache, raspberry sauce, berries, chopped nuts, diced mangoes, biscuit crumbs, etc.
Panna cotta also pairs well with wines like Moscato d'Asti, Elysian black muscat, and the White Grape Orange Muscat.
Here are some our delicious recipes that you can serve with Panna Cotta:
What Is The Difference Between Panna Cotta And Blancmange?
While the two desserts look very similar in taste and texture, they are not the same. The main difference between the two lies in the ingredients. Panna cotta is made with cream and thickened with gelatin, while blancmange is made with cow's milk and thickened with corn flour.
This difference in ingredients leads to another crucial distinction. Blancmange needs to be brought to a boil for the corn flour to work, making it a cooked dessert. While panna cotta is never brought to a boil and is therefore usually considered an uncooked dessert.